Match Race standart situation R15

For cases and questions about the RRS

Match Race standart situation R15

Postby Shura » 07 May 2020 20:27

I prepared three standard situations of rule 15
please give your comments.

MR 2020 05 05 TOP MARK SoVa vs Shuraz R15



MR 2020 05 05 PRESTART SoVa vs Shuraz R10 or green flag


time 0:43 convergence with non-intersecting courses

MR 2020 05 06 prestart Shuraz vs JN


time 1:04 convergence with non-intersecting courses
Leo Tolstoy in my years did not write this.
User avatar
Shura
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 13 Jan 2020 10:16

Re: Match Race standart situation R15

Postby euphoria » 07 May 2020 22:02

2nd and 3rd are easy, both green flag, no rules broken. Both of them have rule 16.1 active (not 15), and with contact it would be penalty to the right of way boat.
The 1st situation is borderline, as there are many rule transitions in short time.
1. Sova clear ahead, right of way boat
2. Shura leeward, right of way boat (no 15)
3. Shura luff, has to give room under 16.1
4. Sova stb, right of way, have to give room under 15
You could argue to give it to Sova under 15, because he should have luffed instead of bearing to gybe
You could argue to give it to Shura under 10, because it was better to bear

Harald
User avatar
euphoria
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3120
Joined: 03 Jan 2001 23:23
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Match Race standart situation R15

Postby Shura » 08 May 2020 06:32

euphoria wrote:2nd and 3rd are easy, both green flag, no rules broken. Both of them have rule 16.1 active (not 15), and with contact it would be penalty to the right of way boat.

Harald

please clarify
at what point does rule 15 switch to 16.1?

and in the situation of Shura vs JN the sails do not work on the Shura. It can be considered that Shura does not do everything possible to avoid contact ?
Leo Tolstoy in my years did not write this.
User avatar
Shura
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 13 Jan 2020 10:16

Re: Match Race standart situation R15

Postby euphoria » 08 May 2020 22:18

It does not switch from 15 to 16, it is 16 when the right of way boat changes course.

With a practical approach to the rules, you can consider if port gains some advantage by not sheeting in the sails. In this situation, probably not, rather the opposite.

Harald
User avatar
euphoria
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3120
Joined: 03 Jan 2001 23:23
Location: Oslo, Norway


Return to Racing Rules of Sailing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron