Last race Sova and FP failed RRS imo

For cases and questions about the RRS

Last race Sova and FP failed RRS imo

Postby Jean-Luc Dellis » 13 Feb 2021 20:43

Please have a look from t=9'00.
Mac is STB, Sova and FP windward and might sail safely straight on. However, Sova gybed then FP gybed too. To not go to contact Mac gybed too. In my opinion, Sova and FP broke rule 10 at this instant.
There was no obstruction :
An object that a boat could not pass without changing course substantially
Nope : because they could sail straight on with no danger and even with no need to change course.
An object that can be safely passed on only one side
Nope : one side is to sail straight on. The other side is to gybe as they made abusely.
What do you think ?
Jean-Luc
Attachments
room land end race.Replay.Gbx
(601.02 KiB) Downloaded 232 times
Jean-Luc Dellis
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 27 Oct 2020 11:52

Re: Last race Sova and FP failed RRS imo

Postby euphoria » 13 Feb 2021 22:19

Clear 11 - I posted on discord after the race.

Image

Harald
User avatar
euphoria
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3120
Joined: 03 Jan 2001 23:23
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Last race Sova and FP failed RRS imo

Postby Jean-Luc Dellis » 14 Feb 2021 00:40

ah yes indeed,11 not 10
TY Harald
Jean-Luc Dellis
 
Posts: 25
Joined: 27 Oct 2020 11:52

Re: Last race Sova and FP failed RRS imo

Postby euphoria » 14 Feb 2021 01:02

First 11, then 10 after gybe, so you were right too.
I just wanted to point out that FP did not keep clear by the definition even before he gybed.
User avatar
euphoria
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3120
Joined: 03 Jan 2001 23:23
Location: Oslo, Norway


Return to Racing Rules of Sailing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron