Shura wrote:that is, when the overlap occurs across a medium boat Rule 17 does not apply.
but between the three boats only 11 and 16 are in effect ?
and rule 17 applies again if the leeward one makes gube .
I did understand correctly ?
If I understand you correct, then you are not correct

For 17 it does not matter how the overlap is:
- Either directly overlapped between two boats.
- Or indirectly overlapped with a boat in the middle overlapping both.
The only thing that matters is how the overlap was established:
- Leeward overlap from clear astern, 17 applies
- Leeward overlap from clear ahead, 17 does not apply
- Leeward overlap instant (from tacking), 17 does not apply
Harald